Chiropractic Education In South Africa

Chiropractic Education in South Africa

university johannesburg education chiropracticThe University of Johannesburg (UJ) and Durban University of Technology (DUT) both offer a six year MTech Degree in Chiropractic – world-class chiropractic education programmes. Similarly to medicine, chiropractic students are instructed in the basic sciences for the first two years–after which they begin to specialise in the chiropractic-specific clinically oriented subjects for the following 3 years. At the end of the 4th year, students submit a masters research proposal, which initiates their masters research project and dissertation.  The project and dissertation are completed in 5th and 6th year under the supervision of qualified chiropractors. In the final two years of study, students are required to complete over 650 hours of internship which includes practical experience in the private, public and sporting sectors.  Throughout the course of 5th and 6th year, students treat patients in the UJ Health Clinic (more info here) under the careful supervision of qualified Chiropractors.  The UJ Department of Chiropractic was established in 1993, with the first output of graduates in 1999.

Continuing Professional Development (CPD)

According to regulations stipulated by the Allied Health Professions Council (AHPCSA), every registered chiropractor is required to meet certain Continuing Professional Development (CPD) requirements by attending conferences, seminars and other events.  Dr David Peyton regularly attends meetings and seminars to continue his professional development, expand his skill set and offer the best possible service to the public.

Sandton Health Centre Chiropractor and Homeopath

54 Old Kilcullen Road
Corner William Nicol Drive & Peter Place

Dr David Peyton 
Tel: +27 (11) 463 6989

Dr Pieter Engelbrecht
Tel: +27 (11) 463 7723

Request A Call

Your Name

Email Address

Telephone Number

Helping you keep your health in line